West Valley College F grade
On the fields this project checks, this institution published almost nothing a reader could use.
- Disclosure score
- 36%
- State
- CA
- IPEDS unit id
- 125499
What was disclosed
| Field | Status | What that means | Comparable institutions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Admission rate | Not reported | No value and no stated reason. This is the one that counts against a publisher. | 0 of 78 publish it (0%) |
| Completion rate, 150% of normal time | Not reported | No value and no stated reason. This is the one that counts against a publisher. | 14 of 78 publish it (18%) |
| Enrollment | Reported | A credible value was published. | 78 of 78 publish it (100%) |
| In-state tuition | Implausible | A value was published but falls outside the credible range for this field. Counted as a disclosure failure: a gap is visible to a reader, a wrong number is not. | 77 of 78 publish it (99%) |
| Median debt at completion | Not reported | No value and no stated reason. This is the one that counts against a publisher. | 45 of 78 publish it (58%) |
| Median earnings 10 years after entry | Reported | A credible value was published. | 78 of 78 publish it (100%) |
Compared against public associate-predominant institutions in CA, this institution excluded. The denominator is the institutions the field actually reached: peers that suppressed it, and peers the requirement does not reach, leave it rather than being counted as failures. A group of fewer than 10 says so instead of printing a share, and a field none of them were asked says that too — the share would be a division by nothing, and a zero there would say every comparable institution had failed to publish it.
Values that do not look like measurements
These were published, so they are not gaps. They fall outside the credible range for their field, which is a judgment this project made and states in full so it can be argued with.
- In-state tuition published as
0.Peer check, public associate-predominant institutions in CA: 0 of 77 comparable institutions publish this value; the rest range from 1,108 to 1,571 (median 1,270)
A published tuition of exactly zero is nearly always an unpopulated field rather than a free institution. The handful of genuinely tuition-free colleges are a known, small set and are better served by an explicit exemption than by a silent zero.
This is a measure of disclosure, not of quality. An institution that reports everything and performs badly scores higher here than a good school that reports nothing, and that is intended. If you believe a field is marked wrongly, the methodology states every rule and the reasoning behind it.
Check this page against the federal record
Every classification above was derived from one row of a committed federal capture by rules kept in this repository. The receipt beside this page is that derivation, machine-readable: the capture it came from and its digest, the version of the rules that read it, and each field's classification. It carries the value of an implausible field, because that number is what this page argues with; it carries no other value, because a list of one college's tuition, earnings and completion rate beside a letter grade would be a performance record.
Machine-readable receipt (receipt.json)
Replay it against the same committed file, with no key and no network. The command exits 0 when the replay agrees with the receipt and names the field when it does not.
disclosed verify-receipt receipt.json --source sample.jsonCite this record
West Valley College, disclosure receipt for IPEDS unit id 125499. Graded by rules version 2026-09-06.1 from sample.json (sha256 012bc6010d99), walked on a date the source file does not record.